Vegan remoulade sauce is delicious as a sauce to something fish-like food. Remoulade is a great sauce for many other things also and can be made from mayonnaise, vegan creme fraiche, or cashews as the base.
What is remoulade sauce made of?
Traditionally remoulade sauce is made of:
- Fresh herbs
There are many variations depending on the country and what you eat the sauce with. Danish remoulade is yellowish and has cabbage, pickled cucumber, onion, coriander, and turmeric. This version in the recipe is more common in Sweden and Finland.
Louisiana remoulade has a more red color since it is spiced with brown mustard, ketchup, and paprika. It is also flavored with celery and parsley.
Difference between remoulade and tartar sauce?
Remoulade and tartar sauce are almost similar. Tartar is made of mayo, capers and pickles. Remoulade, though, also has fresh herbs and other spices. They both go well with fried food.
How to make a vegan remoulade sauce?
As a base for vegan remoulade you can use
Best tasting remoulade sauce is made of cashew mayo, normal mayo or a plant-based sour creme product.
- 200 grams vegan sour cream or mayonnaise
- 1 garlic clove
- ½ onion
- 1 tbs pickled gherkin
- 1 tbs capers
- 1 tsp dried dill
- 1 tsp black pepper
- 1 tsp dijon mustard
- pinch of salt
- Chop all ingredients finely, even the capers
- Mix all ingredients together.
Instead of onion, you can use chive. Instead of dill other herbs are tasty as well depending on what food you serve this sauce with.
Usually, remoulade is made in mayonnaise, but made in oat fraiche it becomes a lighter version.
If you follow a whole foods plant-based diet I recommend using cashew mayo as a base.
The Lightest version is made with silken tofu.
Nutrition Information:Yield: 4 Serving Size: 1
Amount Per Serving: Calories: 90Total Fat: 7gCarbohydrates: 5gFiber: 0,5gProtein: 0,5g